Village Bergün Filisur
Filisur is a street village and located at 1032 m above sea level. The houses are lined up on both sides of the village street, the oriel and sgraffito facades are aligned to the street, where pass traffic, commerce and communication take place.
The mountain village is characterized by the Engadine style of architecture and its wonderful location, in the midst of the mountains of Graubünden. The village can also be found in the National Inventory of Cultural Objects, it is considered one of the best preserved Engadine street villages. Thanks to the new bypass, a stay in the historic village center becomes a special experience. Filisur today has about 500 inhabitants.
In Filisur there were already first settlements in the Bronze Age. This is proven by Bronze Age fragments that were found. The castle Greifenstein above Filisur was initially the seat of the Lords of Greifenstein. Later, the castle was the seat of the episcopal bailiffs with farms in the village area. About the Messrs. Wildenberger, Werdenberger and Matscher the rule Greifenstein 1394 reached the diocese of Chur, which made the castle the administrative center of the region. The church of St. Jodocus and Florinus was completed in 1495. In 1537, the community bought itself free from episcopal rights.
Since the area was rich in water and wood, the center of ore mining developed here, or the iron and ore melt of the region. Since 1565, blast furnaces of iron and zinc processing were operated near Filisur at the river Albula, without motor vehicles! The center of this era was the melt at the Bellaluna, where remains of the director's house stand.
Responsible for this content Bergün Filisur Tourismus.
This website uses technology and content from the Outdooractive platform.